Thursday, May 29, 2014

Private capital inflows to emerging markets are benefiting from a supportive global environment, including an improving macro outlook and strong risk appetite. The crisis in Ukraine is weighing heavily on flows to Russia, however, which is likely to result in a decline in aggregate capital flows to EMs in 2014. This projected decline also reflects reduced inflows to China, given the government’s efforts to discourage short-term capital inflows. Capital flows to EMs remain vulnerable to a possible escalation of the Ukraine crisis and surprises in the timing, pace and magnitude of eventual Fed policy tightening.

Following the publication of the May 2014 Capital Flows Report, Charles Collyns hosted a teleconference on May 29, 2014. The recording of the briefing and the Q & A session is now available for replay.

Download the teleconference

IIF Authors

Lubomir Mitov

Lubomir
Mitov
Chief Economist
+1-202-857-3653
lmitov@iif.com

Garbis Iradian

Garbis
Iradian
Head of MENA Research
+1-202-857-3304
giradian@iif.com

Robin Koepke

Robin
Koepke
Senior Economist
+1-202-857-3313
rkoepke@iif.com

Bejoy Das Gupta

Bejoy Das Gupta
Bejoy
Das Gupta
Chief Economist
+1-202-857-3649
bdasgupta@iif.com

Ramón Aracena

Ramón
Aracena
Chief Economist
+1-202-857-3630
raracena@iif.com

David Hedley

David
Hedley
Chief Economist
+1-202-857-3605
dhedley@iif.com

Emre Tiftik

Emre
Tiftik
Deputy Director
+1-202-857-3321
etiftik@iif.com

Sonja Gibbs

Sonja Gibbs Senior Director Global Capital Markets IIF
Sonja
Gibbs
Senior Director, Global Capital Markets
+1-202-857-3325
sgibbs@iif.com

Felix Huefner

Felix
Huefner
Chief Economist, Global Macroeconomic Analysis
+1-202-857-3651
fhuefner@iif.com

Hung Tran

Hung Tran Executive Managing Director IIF
Hung
Tran
Executive Managing Director
+1-202-682-7449
htran@iif.com

Arpitha Bykere

Arpitha Bykere - IIF
Arpitha
Bykere
Associate Economist
+1-202-857-3308
abykere@iif.com

Saacha Mohammed

Saacha
Mohammed
Senior Research Analyst
+1-202-857-3309
smohammed@iif.com

Charles Collyns

Charles Collyns Managing Director and Chief Economist IIF
Charles
Collyns
Managing Director and Chief Economist
+1-202-857-3609
ccollyns@iif.com

Giyas Gökkent

Giyas
Gökkent
Senior Economist
+971-4401-9651
ggokkent@iif.com

Paul Ticu

Paul
Ticu
Deputy Director
+1-202-857-3301
pticu@iif.com

Share