Emerging Markets Advisory Council (EMAC)

The Emerging Markets Advisory Council (EMAC) was established by the IIF Board of Directors in October 2008 to help enhance the voice of emerging markets institutions within the IIF. The Council’s membership, by invitation only, comprises Chief Executive Officers/Chairs of major financial institutions headquartered or located in emerging market countries. The group is co-chaired by Gianfranco Ferrari (CEO, Credicorp, Peru), Abdulaziz Al-Helaissi (GCEO, Gulf International Bank, Bahrain), Khairussaleh Ramli (Group President and Chief Executive Officer, Malayan Banking Berhad, Malaysia), and Cezary Stypulkowski (President and CEO, mBank, Poland). The Council meets virtually or in person for two formal meetings each year, generally in connection with the IIF Spring and Annual Membership Meetings. EMAC also meets online regularly for “Special EMAC Sessions” on topics of particular interest to its members.


Mr. Gianfranco Ferrari
Chief Executive Officer
Credicorp, Peru

Mr. Abdulaziz A. Al-Helaissi
Group Chief Executive Officer
Gulf International Bank B.S.C., Bahrain

Mr. Khairussaleh Ramli
Group President and Chief Executive Officer
Malayan Banking Berhad, Malaysia

Mr. Cezary Stypulkowski
President and Chief Executive Officer
mBank S.A., Poland


Mr. Samaila Zubairu
President and CEO
Africa Finance Corporation, Nigeria

Dr. Benedict Oramah
President and Chairman of the Board
African Export-Import Bank, Egypt

Mr. Hakan Binbasgil
Chief Executive Officer
Akbank, Turkey

Mrs. Randa Sadik 
Chief Executive Officer
Arab Bank, Jordan

Mr. Juan Carlos Mora Uribe
Chief Executive Officer
Bancolombia, Colombia

Mr. Hashim Hani Shawa 
Chairman and General Manager
Bank of Palestine, Palestine

Mr. Mohamed Eletreby
Banque Misr, Egypt

Mr. Joseph Abraham
Group Chief Executive Officer
Commercial Bank, Qatar

Dr. Bernd van Linder
Chief Executive Officer
Commercial Bank of Dubai, UAE

Mr. Hussein Abaza
Chief Executive Officer and Board Member
Commercial International Bank (Egypt), Egypt 

Mr. Arif Amiri
Dubai International Financial Center, UAE

Mr. Eduardo J. Escasany 
Grupo Financiero Galicia, Argentina

Mr. Hisham Ezz Al-Arab
Chairman and Managing Partner
HE Advisory, Egypt

Mr. Milton Maluhy Filho
Chief Executive Officer
Itaú Unibanco Banco Multiplo SA, Brazil

Mr. Hiroshi Matano
Executive Vice President
Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency, USA

Mr. Vince Cook
Chief Executive Officer
National Bank of Fujairah, UAE

Mr. Saeed Alghamdi
Chairman of the Board
National Commercial Bank, Saudi Arabia

Mr. Abdulla Al-Khalifa
Acting Group Chief Executive Officer
Qatar National Bank, Qatar

Mr. Sim Tshabalala 
Group Chief Executive
Standard Bank Group, South Africa