+ 9:00 am – 10:45 am New York / Washington, D.C.
+ 2:00 pm – 3:45 pm London
+ 3:00 pm – 4:45 pm Brussels

We were pleased to host the 'International Financial System Under Stress: Sanctions and De-dollarization in an Uncertain Future' online event on April 19.

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine has sparked strong condemnation from members of the international community with far-reaching geopolitical and financial ramifications. The unprecedented sanctions imposed on Russia and the speed at which they were implemented are certainly historic in nature, but how effective have they been? What did we get right and what did we get wrong? Have we learned any lessons that may inform our decisions in the future? Moreover, how will the invasion impact the traditional dollar-based system, if at all? Should we be concerned about fragmentation? Do we see any viable alternatives on the horizon, whether from a national currency such as the RMB or Euro, or from a digital currency? This webinar considered these and other questions as the international financial system grapples with the potential outcome of these extraordinary circumstances.

 

Confirmed Speakers:
Isabelle Mateos y Lago, Managing Director, Global Head of the Official Institutions Group, BlackRock
Brent McIntosh, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary, Citi
Rebecca Patterson, Chief Investment Strategist, Bridgewater Associates
+ Eswar Prasad, Professor at Cornell University, Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution, and author of The Future of Money:
   How the Digital Revolution is Transforming Currencies and Finance

Elina Ribakova, Deputy Chief Economist, IIF
Juan Zarate, Global Co-Managing Partner & Chief Strategy Officer, K2 Integrity

For questions or more information about the event please reach out to meetings@iif.com.