• 10:00 am 11:15 am Washington, D.C.
  • 3:00 pm 4:15 pm London
  • 4:00 pm 5:15 pm Brussels

On May 13 we discussed the findings of our forthcoming Global Debt Monitor: A Double-Edged Sword. This webinar offered fresh perspectives on sovereign debt vulnerabilities as the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic continues to unfold, and expert insight on how ESG considerations are increasingly driving trends in global debt markets.

This webinar featured an IIF staff presentation with key takeaways from the latest edition of the Global Debt Monitor. This edition focused on a double dilemma for policymakers: the need to finance ambitious climate commitments and broader sustainable development goals, while managing the risks that come with persistently high and rising debt levels. Following the presentation, our expert panel then shared and debated their views on debt vulnerabilities in both emerging and mature markets, and set out key investment themes in the current environment.

Other topics we covered included outlook for ESG debt markets and implications for global capital flows, as well as debt sustainability concerns for low-income countries in the context of the G20 Debt Service Suspension Initiative (DSSI) and Common Framework for Debt Treatments beyond the DSSI.

    Welcome and Introduction:
  • Clay Lowery,?Executive Vice President, Research and Policy, IIF

    Presentation - IIF Global Debt Monitor:
  • Emre Tiftik,?Director, Sustainability Research, IIF

    Panel Discussion:
  • Arnab Das, Global Market Strategist, Head of EM Macro, Invesco
  • Sonja Gibbs, ?Managing Director and Head of Sustainable Finance, IIF (moderator)
  • James McCormack,?Managing Director and Global Head of Sovereign & Supranational Ratings, Fitch Ratings
  • Trang Nguyen, ?Executive Director, EM Strategist, J.P. Morgan

For questions or more information about the event, please contact meetings@iif.com