+ 8:00 am – 9:00 am Washington, D.C.
+ 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm London
+ 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm Brussels
+ 8:00 pm – 9:00 pm Singapore
+ 9:00 pm – 10:00 pm Tokyo

On Wednesday, March 16, we will host the second installment of our series with Moody's on opportunities in emerging markets.

This invitation-only roundtable discussion will focus on digital transformation in EMs. The session will explore macroeconomic aspects of Central Bank Digital Currencies (CBDCs) and cryptographic assets (crypto assets), and specifically how they may impact monetary policy in EMs. The roundtable will be an open and informal conversation among policymakers and private sector participants discussing potential impacts to asset markets, ratings, analyst forecasts, and EM monetary sovereignty. A majority of EM central banks are now exploring CBDCs, and many have used a form of digital money to strengthen the reach of fiscal programs during the pandemic. The rapid adoption of crypto assets by institutional investors, corporates, and households suggests monetary policy transmission mechanisms, financial stability, and cross-border payments could be permanently altered. While markets in crypto assets are still small relative to the global financial system, they may quickly become systemic given their rapid growth.

Confirmed Speakers:
+ Tobias Adrian, Financial Counsellor and Director of the Monetary and Capital Markets Department, IMF
+ Sean Marion, Managing Director, Financial Institutions Group, Moody's Investors Service
+ Alejandro Olivo Villa, Managing Director, Regional Head Americas and Europe, Sovereign, Sub-Sovereign Group, Moody's Investors Service

This roundtable is by invitation only. For more information about the event, please email meetings@iif.com