+ 10:00 am – 11:00 am New York / Washington, D.C.
+ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm London
+ 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm Brussels / Paris

The massive build-up in global debt levels over the past decade—including for many emerging market governments—has focused attention on growing risks to debt sustainability and financial stability. As both public and private sector stakeholders search for solutions, we were pleased to host interactive webinar on March 22 which discussed the role of market-based approaches in enhancing the international sovereign debt architecture.

Since their establishment by sovereign debtors and their international creditors in 2004, the Principles for Stable Capital Flows and Fair Debt Restructuring have proven to be an effective market-based framework for sovereign debt crisis prevention and resolution. These Principles are currently being updated to reflect the substantial changes in sovereign debt markets over the past decade—including higher debt levels, a much more diverse creditor base, and the surge in investor interest in environmental, social and governance (ESG) considerations. This discussion aimed to promote awareness of the updates to the Principles and highlight their key objective: supporting effective sovereign debtor-creditor relations and ensuring access to affordable and sustainable sources of international capital.

 

Introduction:
+ Clay Lowery, Executive Vice President, IIF


Updating the Principles for Stable Capital Flows and Fair Debt Restructuring
+ Emre Tiftik, Director of Sustainability Research, IIF


Panel Discussion
+ Kevin Daly, Portfolio Manager and Investment Director, Emerging Market Debt, abrdn
+ Sonja Gibbs, Managing Director and Head of Sustainable Finance, IIF (moderator)
+ Anne-Laure Kiechel, Founder & CEO, Global Sovereign Advisory
+ Deborah Zandstra, Partner, Capital Markets Group, Clifford Chance


For questions or more information about this event, please contact meetings@iif.com.